Sunday, June 11, 2017

American Gods Season 1 Episode 7: A Prayer for Mad Sweeney 


















5 second plot: As Laura and Mad Sweeney are trying to catch up with Shadow and Wednesday we get a little bit of an origin story of Mad. Set in a different time.

5 second review: This is the kind of episode I would make if I suddenly realized I didn't have enough material to make the number of episodes I promised I would make. It adds little to nothing to the storyline and isn't very interesting.

IMDb score: 8/10
Our score: 5/10


Sunday, June 4, 2017

American Gods Season 1 Episode 6: A Murder of Gods


















5 second plot: Shadow's (still dead) wife, the taxi driver and Mad Sweeney go on a road trip. The original plan is to go in Shadow's direction, but somehow they decide to go somewhere else first. Wednesday tries to find allies (other Gods (I'm just guessing)) for the upcoming war (what war? I don't know). This time he visits an old friend with a big love for guns.

5 second review: Not very much happens in this episode. There are a couple of (quick, but) spectacular deaths. And Mad Sweeney is on a roll. So still enough to make watching this episode worth wile but kick up the pace, pretty please.

IMDb score: 7,8/10
Our score: 7,5/10


Friday, June 2, 2017

The Big Bang Theory Season 10 Episode 13-24 is a perfect mix



















5 second plot: Spoiler alert! The guys continue working on their guidance system. But the military ends up screwing them over. Raj can't afford his apartment anymore and temporarily moves in with Penny and Leonard. Bernadette and Howard have a difficult time taking Halley to daycare for the first time. Amy has to leave town for a couple of months. Immediately Sheldon gets hit on by another woman. He takes a drastic decision.

5 second review: I don't know how they do it, but they figured out a secret formula to perfectly mix classic comedy stuff with groundbreaking new craziness. Like Stewart running into Bernadette and Howard's room with a barb wired baseball bat to save them.

IMDb score: 8,3/10
Our score: 8,5/10


Sunday, May 28, 2017

American Gods Season 1 Episode 5: Lemon Scented You


















5 second plot: Shadow's got a couple of questions for his dead wife. Their talk is interrupted when Shadow and Wednesday are called for a meeting with Mr. World. Mad Sweeney tries to get his coin back but he's out of luck.

5 second review: What a glorious cast. The story slowly begins to unfold. I'm happy Shadow is there to keep the show grounded and to point out the fact that we're seeing some weird shit.

IMDb score: 8,6/10
Our score: 8,5/10


Thursday, May 25, 2017

Wonder Woman ain't afraid of no accent

















5 second plot: It's the origin story of Wonder Woman. From her time as a child and her training to become a warrior to her first big battle in the real world.

5 second review: It feels painfully wrong to set a light (and silly) story in a horrible and serious time period. But I guess: thank God Wonder Woman was there to stop WWI. I hate it when a big budget movie has Germans speaking English with a German accent because they think we're too stupid to read subtitles. Especially when they try very hard to ground the movie in the real world. Speaking of accents: as a child Diana speaks perfect American English, but as she grows older she develops a heavy accent. What's up with that? I'll stop complaining now and end on an important positive note: Gal Gadot is PERFECT as Wonder Woman.

IMDb score: 8,1/10
Our score: 8/10


Sunday, May 21, 2017

American Gods Season 1 Episode 4: Git Gone
















5 second plot: It's the origin story of Shadow and his wife. And how she came back from being dead.

5 second review: This is a pretty cool episode. With some pretty interesting ideas about life and death. And body-parts (f)lying around. And blood gushing all over the place. And an awesome display of a guy who gets kicked in the nuts so hard, he splits in half while his spine and skull fly out of the top of his body. If that isn't cool I don't know what is.

IMDb score: 8,1/10
Our score: 9,5/10


Friday, May 19, 2017

Alien: Covenant does not hold back

















5 second plot: A spaceship carrying lots of sleeping colonists on their way to a new home gets hit by a blast of idontknowwhat. The crew wakes up, repairs the damage and picks up a recording of someone singing a John Denver song. Which is weird because they are the first humans there. So they investigate. Bad move.

5 second review: The horror is very good (critters crawling out of humans galore), the aliens are pretty good too (especially the last one), the science fiction (spaceships) is incredible, but somehow something didn't feel right. I think it's the fact that it's not really about the aliens.

IMDb score: 6,9/10
Our score: 7,5/10


Sunday, May 14, 2017

American Gods Season 1 Episode 3: Head Full of Snow 


















5 second plot: A woman dies, Shadow gets another chance at life, Wednesday is robbing a bank, Mad Sweeney is out of luck, a guy in New York has sex with his cab driver who's got flames coming out of his eyes.

5 second review: Well that's something you don't see every day: two bearded Arab guys fucking while one of them's got flames coming out of his eye sockets. And I probably missed the whole symbolism point they were trying to make (it seems that when he comes inside this other dude's butt his flame gets passed on? I don't know) because I was to busy thinking: MAKE IT STOOOOOOP!

IMDb score: 8/10
Our score: 9/10



Sunday, April 30, 2017

American Gods Season 1 Episode 1-2 is impressive
















5 second plot: Shadow (cool name huh) has just been released from prison. On his way to his wife's funeral (who died in a car crash with his best friend's private parts in her mouth) he is offered a job by Wednesday. A guy who seems to have been around for a while. And who seems to attract the kind of crowd that gets Shadow beaten up all the time.

5 second review: And I forgot about Vikings chopping each utter to pieces (parts flying around the screen) and a woman who 'absorbs' people in her vagina. I shit you not, it's that kind of TV show. Oh, and a buffalo with fire shooting out of his eyes. It's visually impressive but it looks like style over content so I wasn't going to pursue this further than 2 episodes. But goddamned I want to know what happens next.

IMDb score: 8,5/10
Our score: 9/10


Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2 is lots of fun
















5 second plot: The Guardians try to help where they can in the Galaxy. When Rocket does something stupid they get into a whole lot of trouble. Also in this volume: Peter meets his dad. And Baby Groot is growing up and learning from the best.

5 second plot: There isn't much of a story. We're just following the Guardians around as they go about their business. There are a lot more tears and touchy-feely moments in this second volume and that's not really my thing. But there's also much more humor. It's not always smart or sophisticated, but there's something about these characters that make me laugh my ass off. So I had a lot of fun.

IMDb score: 8,3/10
Our score: 8/10